

Highlight

EMS Silver Medals awarded to Karin Labitzke and René Morin

In 2008, the EMS has established the EMS Silver Medal Award to acknowledge lifetime achievement for the development of meteorology in Europe. The first two Silver Medal Laureates are:

Karin Labitzke, Professor Emeritus FU Berlin, for her many and long-standing contributions to the



development and the advancement of the science of meteorology and furtherance of international collaboration.

René Morin, the first EMS President, for his outstanding contributions to the development of lasting



collaboration amongst the national meteorological societies in Europe that led to the foundation of the EMS.

The EMS Silver Medals will be presented at the Eighth EMS Annual Meeting in Amsterdam. Silver Medal Lectures will be given on Variability in the Stratosphere: The Sun and the QBO by Karin Labitzke and on Social, Economic and Political Impact of Meteorology by René Morin.

News

► The Opening Session of the Eighth EMS Annual Meeting and Seventh European Conference on Applied Climatology will feature five key note presentations by:

Jean Palutikof (IPCC WGII)

Michel Jarraud (WMO) André Jol (EEA) Walter Dabberdt (AMS) Tim Palmer (ECMWF)

Full details are available at http://meetings.copernicus.org/ems2008/special_events.

700 abstracts have been submitted to the EMS/ECAC. The session programme will be available online after 7 July 2008.

- ► Two new Associate Members have joined the EMS:
- met.no the Norwegian Meteorological Service.
- Wetter-Klima-Umwelt,a private service provider.
- ► The German National Meteorological Service (DWD) will move to its new building in early July. In addition DWD will replace all weather radars by dual-polarization, Doppler radars in the next three years.

Meetings

- ◆ 10th Plinius Conference on Mediterranean Storms;
 4 - 8 September 2008, Cyprus
- EUMETSAT conference;
 8 12 September 2008,
 Darmstadt, Germany
- 8th International Conference on School & Popular Meteorological and Oceanographic Education,
 6 - 10 July 2009, Prague.

Awards

Young Scientist Travel Awards (YSTAs) have been allocated to:

- Morten Stig Thorsen (Norway)
 WMO/COST Symposium on Climate Change.
- Anja Schleichardt (Germany) International Symposium for the Advancement of Boundary Layer Remote Sensing.

YSTAs are also allocated to the following events:

- 4th Earth Observation Summer School
- ECMWF Annual Seminar
- ◆ 10th Plinius Conference on Mediterranean Storms

Further Awards include:

- ♦ Young Scientist Award
- ◆ Outreach & Communication
- ♦ Broadcast Meteorologist
- ◆ The Best TV Weather Forecast
- ♦ Kipp & Zonen Award for Boundary Layer Meteorology.

Nominations for these awards must be submitted by 1 August 2008.

For a full list of EMS Awards see: emetsoc.org/awards/awards.php

Publications

Conference Papers of the 7th EMS & 8th ECAM 2007 have been published in the open access journal Advances in Science and Research at:

http://www.adv-sci-res.net/topical_library.html.

The Cloud Book by Richard Hamblyn has been published by David & Charles in association with the Met Office (retail price £9.99).